Instagram is one of the most popular online social networks. According to Global social media ranking, Instagram has over 600 million daily active users around the globe. People use this platform for a variety of reasons, from personal entertainment to business promotions. One of the main reasons why Instagram has become so popular and appreciated among people is because of its consistency in introducing advanced and creative features for its users. Shortly after they came up with the idea of Instagram Stories, Instagram launched Instagram Live.
Instagram Live is a feature allows users to record what they’re doing in real time and update their family and friends live. Posting photos with cool captions in no longer the only way to connect with your friends on Instagram. Now, with a single tab, you can go live and connect with your target audience. As soon as you go live, Instagram alerts your followers about your activity so they can your streaming. People can only see your live stream as you go live. Once you end your live video, it will be gone and no one is able to see it.
One great thing about Instagram Live is that it eliminates the pressure of looking flawless with the right filter and instead it allows you to go all natural. It also helps users show their audience exactly what’s going on and update them on recent events with more than just some candid pictures. To quote Kevin Well, the head of products at Instagram, “Instagram should be all of your moments, not just the highlights.” To help you understand how Instagram Live works and to help you make the most out of it, we’ve put together a quick and easy guide.
1. Going live
Starting off on Instagram Live is quite easy. Once you open the app, simply tap on the top left side where your profile picture which has the “+” sign on. If you scroll down on your Instagram newsfeed, you won’t be able to see the Story bar. In that case, just tap on your camera. Once the camera turns on, three options will appear: Live, Normal and Boomerang. Here’s a brief description of what these options mean:
- Live videos are videos that disappear once you stop the broadcast
- Normal pictures and videos that remain on your profile for only 24 hours
- Boomerang is a short video that runs in a loop
2. Control Your Settings
Before you go live, we recommend checking your settings in order to make sure a maximum reach of your broadcast. There you can control who can see your live stream and who can send you messages. To do so, simply go at the top of the left page where you’ll see the settings sign. There you have the option of controlling your live stream audience.
3. Adjust Your Camera
Adjust the position of your phone the way you wish and then tap to start the live broadcast. Make sure you arrange the lighting and contrast before you start because you can’t change it afterwards. Keep in mind you cannot use your phone’s flashlight while you are recording live.
4. Engage Your Audience
The more followers you have, the better you can engage them in your live broadcast. It’s important to keep your audience interested while you’re live, otherwise you reach will be quite low. If you don’t have a lot of followers, don’t worry about it. Paid social media is how big brands always get started. Get new followers instantly by checking out our packages right here.
You can also keep a track of your broadcast’s time. It is displayed at the top of the page. Instagram lets you see who is viewing your broadcast and also who is commenting. You can use this to start a live conversation by replying to their messages live. However, if you just want to broadcast without seeing any comments, you can disable them by tapping on the three dots which appear at the bottom of the page. You can also restrict someone from your live broadcast while still recording. To do so, tap on the people who are viewing your video and tap the ‘X’ next to that person’s name. After tapping the X, they will no longer be able to see your live video.
5. Stop Your Live Video
After you feel like you’re done with you broadcast, you can stop it by tapping the “End live video” option which you can find at the bottom of your screen. After you stop your streaming, Instagram will provide you with analytics of your audience. These statistics are not saved, so if you need to use this information, you can simply take a screenshot. Keep in mind that once you end your live streaming, people who missed it won’t be able to see it- or the ones who did won’t be able to rewatch it- because Instagram Live videos are never saved.